Back to blog

UK physicists awarded top prizes

by AprilSix Proof

British scientists get a share of the Shaw Prize for Astronomy and Kavli Prize for Nanoscience

The Shaw Prize, often referred to as the Nobel of the East given the Hong Kong location of the Foundation, is awarded every year for significant contributions to the fields of astronomy, life science and medicine, and mathematical sciences. It was announced this week that the 2014 Prize for Astronomy has been awarded to Professor John Peacock (University of Edinburgh), Professor Shaun Cole (Durham University) and Professor Daniel Eisenstein (Harvard University) for their work over the last two decades in producing a tenfold increase in large-scale sky surveys.

The one million dollar prize will be shared equally among the three colleagues, highlighting the significance of the UK-Australian Two-degree Field Galaxy Redshift Survey (2dFGRS), which collaborated with the USA-led Sloan Digital Sky Survey to obtain the results.

The announcement was swiftly followed by the news that Professor Sir John Pendry FRS (Imperial College London) would receive a share of the Kavli Prize for nanoscience for his work on constructing the perfect lens and developing ‘invisibility cloak’ technology. Sir John shares the one million dollar Nanoscience Prize with Thomas Ebbesen from the University of Strasbourg and Professor Stefan Hell from the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry.

Sir Keith O’Nions, President of Imperial College London, said: “Imperial and the whole British scientific community will be celebrating this well-deserved honour.”

“This is a prime example of how investment in high-quality research pays dividends. Future generations of physicists and other researchers will benefit from the scientific foundations laid by John Pendry and his peers.”

Read more here and here